2026 Avery Blue

5’7

PG

Vel Phillips Memorial HS (WI)

AAU: Wisconsin Dynasty

Avery Blue was a standout prospect at Evolution Basketball’s Cream City Rise tournament at the MOSH Performance Center in Milwaukee,WI.

Blue runs with Wisconsin Dynasty, one of the best teams in the Midwest on the spring and summer circuits. Blue and her Dynasty teammates are well coached, have experience, chemistry, and a mesh of different skill-sets with all being fundamentally sound.

Blue helped lead the Dynasty to a 4-0 record winning the Girls 17u Division Championship at Evolution Basketball’s Cream City Rise tournament.

Basketball runs through Avery Blue veins so she has a high basketball IQ. Blue is an elite point guard that’s a 3-level scorer with deep range. Avery also is a great playmaker and facilitator.

There’s many things to like about Blue’s game but watching her at the Cream City Rise tournament I loved her ability to shoot, she’s a long range sniper who can score in many ways. Blue creates great spacing for shots with her dribble, her ability to counter defenses making the right play, controlling tempo, and her communication and leadership.

MW: How do you think your playing style complements your teammates strengths and weaknesses?

AB: I think my playing style as a point guard compliments both my high school and AAU teammates in so many ways. My ability to shoot with range opens driving lanes and post up opportunities. When most teams close out on me tight off pick and roles, I find my posts and give them easy opportunities to score!

As well in scramble positions for defense with fast close outs on me, I am able to make one more pass to other guards for them to knock down shots.

In transition my ability to handle the ball at a fast pace, while seeing the whole floor compliments mommy guards who get out wide and posts who are diving to the basket. On the defensive end pressuring quick aggressive guards full court, getting steals and creating turnovers has been something that more recently has helped give my teammates and I more easy opportunities to score.

Keeping a high energy and providing words of encouragement towards teammates helps those who get down on themselves easy. Overall pushing to build good chemistry as a whole.

MW: Think about a recent game…Was there a play you would’ve approached differently?

AB: Recently my high school team played in a tournament and played some really good competition. We played against Kimberly and Pewaukee which are two very aggressive and smart teams. Throughout both games both teams blitzed every hand off and ball screen. This made it difficult to get shots off and make passes to the post. Instead of getting frustrated or losing focus, I wish I would’ve kept my dribble going more, and attacked one side of the blitz. Not only would that have helped me get to the rim but also find easy kick outs to teammates and dishes to posts. As well as overall during these two competitive games kept a high energy more consistently for myself and towards my teammates!!

MW: Can you give an example of when you had to adapt your play style to suit a game situation?

AB: During many games teams start to realize or already know that I love to shoot the ball.

Teams who prepare or adjust for that whether it is face guarding me or blitzing screens/handoffs have made it difficult to play my normal game shooting a lot of threes. Instead of getting 3 point looks, I have had to adapt to these defenses. Screening off ball during these games has created other opportunities for teammates but also slip opportunities for me to get easy looks off of cuts.

Looking for one on one actions for drives to the hoop instead of moves around the arch is an adjustment I make during games like these as well. Though maintaining scoring during games like these is important, often times taking away attention giving other’s opportunities to score from screens is just as impactful.

Defensively during games when teams are taller and aggressive I’ve had to adapt and guard 5’9-5’11 girls.

Fronting post ups and stopping drives before paint touches happen has been an important adaptation I’ve had to make to not be a defensive liability for my team.

MW: What personal milestones have you set for yourself with your academic and athletic careers?

AB: Personally for me school has always been very important. Staying focused getting good grades while also playing sports has always been a standard I’ve held myself too. Walking into high school I wanted to have a 4.0 GPA throughout all 4 years.

Athletically I wanted to make varsity and get solid minutes. Figuring out in high school that actually learning what is being taught to you, studying, but also leaving yourself time to train, workout, and go to practices is way more important than being a perfect straight A student.

After 2 years of high school I still have those high standards for myself academically and in athletics knowing that playing collegiate basketball will be even more of a challenge balancing school and sports. Walking into my Junior year with a 3.95 GPA and 2 varsity basketball years under my belt I feel confident knowing that holding myself to standards will get me far, as long as I stick to it.

MW: What achievements in basketball are you most proud of and how does those achievements contribute to your confidence on the court?

AB: Within basketball there are so many ups and downs that everyone experiences. I have been able to reach many things in just the past two years that I have always wanted to achieve. Not only making varsity as a freshman but also being a starter and playing most of the game provided me with tons of confidence my freshman year. I felt trusted and believed in from my coach and teammates.

After a really good first 3 games of the season averaging 20 points, I got a call from Coach Coburn at Wagner College in New York. I was beyond excited. I soon received my first D1 offer from Wagner which was such an achievement. Already knowing my high school coaches and teammates believed in me but also a high level coach only boosted my confidence and love for the game more.

Both my Freshman and Sophomore year earning Second Team All Conference in a competitive conference was a great achievement as well! Knowing people recognized the work I’ve put in and my love for the game has been so uplifting!

Checkout Avery Blue’s Highlights:

Follow Press Row Sports on X/IG/FB: X/IG: @pressrowsports_ Facebook.com/PressRowSportsTalk

Follow Melo Williams on X/IG: @_MeloWilliams

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started