2024 Greg Smith Jr. (Madison East HS, WI) has committed to Division 3 Carroll University (WI) to further his academic and athletic careers.

6’6″

PF

Madison East HS, WI

AAU: Wisconsin Triple Threat (WI)

Smith Jr. is long and athletic at 6’6″ with his length and wingspan giving him an advantage on offense and defense. On offense, Greg is great and dangerous in pick and roll and pick and pop sets because of his ability to set solid screens, slipping screens rolling to the rim or popping to an open space in the defense shooting his nice mid range shot. Smith Jr. also has the ability to finish at the rim using both hands, lobs or dunking.

On defense Greg can defend every position with his length. Guarding smaller players Smith Jr. can play arms length off of the smaller players still being able to contest shots. Against bigs, Smith Jr. can do the same but he also plays physical and big when defending in the post. I believe on defense being a rim protector blocking and altering shots is Greg’s greatest strength on defense because he has an explosive first jump and a high IQ so he judges timing of shots well.

MW: What was the attraction to Carroll University to get your commitment?

GS: There were a few reasons why I picked Carroll, first being I felt like I was painted a picture right in front of my eyes rather than just trying to sell me it. Coach Jannsen was able to dissect my game to a T, even noticing the little details. Not only did he tell me how he saw my game in the future, he also told me how exactly we’ll get it there.

Another reason was how tough the conference is, I feel like it would be a great experience to play in. Lastly, the main reason was the opportunities they have academically. One being the MBA program where I can receive my MBA at the same time I complete my undergraduate degree.

MW: What are you looking forward to most playing at Carroll?

GS: One thing I’m looking forward to most is being apart of the family, seeing how many games of mine they came to and how often they checked up on me made me feel like they cared about me not just as a player but a person as well.

https://www.hudl.com/profile/17107625/Greg-Smith-Jr

Smith Jr. 2023 – 2024 Stats:

8.2 PPG (45% FG), 8.1 RPG, 1.0 SPG, 1.1 BPG

2024 BIG 8 Conference Honorable Mention

Carroll Pioneers finished the 2023 – 2024 season (14 – 12) overall and (7 – 9) in the College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW).

Follow Press Row Sports on social media:

X/IG: @pressrowsports_

FB: Facebook.com/PressRowSportsTalk

Follow Melo Williams on X/IG: @_MeloWilliams

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started